2024 CWSAA Awards Recipients Announced

A group of outstanding individuals were honoured for their remarkable contributions to the ski industry during the 2024 CWSAA Spring Conference in Jasper.

Congratulations to the 2024 recipients of the CWSAA Awards:

Charlie Locke, 2024 Jimmie Spencer Lifetime Achievement Award

Charlie Locke, proprietor of the Lake Louise Ski Resort, was bestowed with the 2024 Jimmie Spencer Lifetime Achievement Award. His lifelong passion for the mountains was evident from his remarkable climbing and mountaineering expeditions in the 60s and 70s, during which he completed over 40 first ascents of peaks in Alberta and BC. In 1974, Charlie became a partner in the Lake Louise Ski Resort, and today, alongside his family, he remains actively involved in its operations. Outside of the ski industry, Charlie found success in diverse business ventures ranging from oil and gas to cattle.

Doug MacFarlane, 2024 Jim Marshall Leadership Award

Doug MacFarlane, Vice President of Mountain Operations for Whistler Blackcomb, was honoured with the 2024 Jim Marshall Leadership Award. Doug’s journey in the ski industry began in 1988 as a patroller on Blackcomb, and over the years, he has served on the CWSAA Board of Directors and has been a mentor to many within the industry.

Dean Roberts, 2024 Rod Chisholm Operations & Maintenance Award

Dean Roberts, Lift Maintenance Manager at Sun Peaks, was recognized with the 2024 Rod Chisholm Operations & Maintenance Award. Dean’s ski industry journey started as a snowmaker and snowcat operator, and he later became a certified red seal millwright. He is actively involved in a number of CWSAA and industry committees and projects.

Anders Svenson, 2024 Lars Fossberg Excellence Award

Anders Svenson, Business Manager and partner at Mission Ridge, received the 2024 Lars Fossberg Excellence Award. Anders began his career at Mission Ridge as a teenage ski instructor and has since become an indispensable asset to the team. He is currently the President of the Saskatchewan Ski Area Operators Association and has been actively involved in CSIA and CWSAA snowsports committees.

CWSAA 2024 Peak Performance Recipients:

CWSAA 2024 Peak Performance Award

The CWSAA Peak Performance Award acknowledges innovation and creativity, celebrating individuals whose ingenuity has provided value to their employer and benefited the industry as a whole. This year, four deserving individuals were awarded the CWSAA Peak Performance Award:

  • Zoe Sloan of Edmonton Ski Club
  • Charles Albrow of Sun Peaks Resort
  • Anna Boyd of Whistler Blackcomb
  • Shannon Johnston of Asessippi Resort

CWSAA was also pleased to recognize Bob Bell for his significant and long time support to CWSAA. Bob received a well deserved standing ovation by the delegates.

Share This Article