US Sport Leader Darryl Landstrom Honored With Julius Blegen Award

Minnesota sport leader Darryl Landstrom, a long-time regional and national volunteer sport leader, was honored by U.S. Ski & Snowboard with its highest honor - the Julius Blegen Award. Landstrom, who grew up as a ski jumper and nordic combined skier in Duluth’s Chester Park Ski Club, found his pathway as an alpine ski racing leader, first in Central Division and now chair of the national Alpine Sport Committee.

Landstrom became the 75th recipient of the Julius Blegen Award dating back to 1946. The award recognizes established history of distinguished service and a lasting contribution to U.S. Ski & Snowboard and its membership. It is named in honor of Julius Blegen, a key leader of the National Ski Association in the 1930s.

He was recognized Friday, May 21 during the virtual annual meeting of the U.S. Ski & Snowboard board of directors.

“Darryl has been a powerful and unique leader, volunteering his time for decades to bring people together behind the scenes in our sports,” said U.S. Ski & Snowboard Chairman Kipp Nelson. “He has been a true governance pioneer for our organization, always able to align everyone around a common direction to move the sport forward.”

When an injury sidelined Landstrom from competition at the age of 21, he turned his attention to volunteering, primarily in support of junior alpine ski racing in the then U.S. Ski Association’s Central Division. His leadership skills and motivation to help youth ultimately saw him lead alpine sport committees in Central Division, Rocky/Central Region and today as the national Alpine Sport Committee chair and a member of the U.S. Ski & Snowboard Board of Directors.

His work in the midwest was pivotal in helping to increase the international ski racing presence in the Central Division. He was instrumental in scheduling the first night FIS slalom at Boyne Mountain, Mich. as well as securing giant slalom course homologation at Lutsen Mountain, Minn., now a perennial stop on the spring FIS racing tour in the USA.

Landstrom has also served an important role within collegiate ski racing. He has served as a board member of the U.S. Collegiate ski Association as well as chair of U.S. Ski & Snowboard’s Collegiate Subcommittee and as the U.S. representative to the International Ski Federation’s University Racers Subcommittee.

Along with his service to alpine ski racing, Landstrom has also volunteered to help with myriad other sports organizations. Among them are USA Nordic, the national leadership organization for ski jumping and nordic combined, the Minneapolis-based Loppet Foundation, a multi-sport program known for its cross country skiing programs, and the Minneapolis Ski Club, a leading ski jumping club in the Twin Cities.

Landstrom’s positive impact on the sport has stemmed from his ability to bring people together on issues and create synergies - known as an approachable, transparent and athlete-centric leader. He was instrumental following a 2013 McKinsey study in aligning division, regional and national sport leaders to create affiliation agreements and to update the U.S. Ski & Snowboard bylaws. He continued that work to restructure the governance of the Alpine Sport Committee, creating a more impactful governing body.

“I'm both honored and humbled,” said Landstrom on receiving the award. “When I consider past recipients, it is hard to imagine being part of this legacy group.” He cited numerous role models including past Blegen recipients Anna McIntyre, who nominated him, former board chair Bill Slattery, his longtime friend the late Bob Dart and last year’s recipient Paine. “They have been role models for me and I hope that I can be the same for future Blegen Award recipients.”

Landstrom credits his parents’ support and the friendships he gained with other 10-year-olds as a motivating factor for his initial pathway into the sport. And the ongoing friendships with peers have kept him going over decades. “The friendships during my tenure with U.S. Ski & Snowboard are enormous and invaluable,” he said. “I admire the commitment and transparency of staff, the alpine community and the other disciplines with which I continue to engage.”

In addition to his governance work, Landstrom has spent plenty of time on the snow from packing the landing hill on ski jumps, hauling gunny sacks of snow up scaffolding, working as a gate judge and referee, and even a stint as timer and announcer for divisional alpine races.

This past year Landstrom took on leadership of U.S. Ski & Snowboard’s COVID Commission, developing policies and principles which helped guide the organization through a challenging season.

Today, the Duluth native lives in Wayzata, where he is a Twin Cities businessman. He splits time with his mountain home in Winter Park, Colo., and remains a very active skier himself, as well as following the career of his U16 alpine ski racing grandson. He was nominated for the award by Anna McIntyre, the 1996 recipient of the Blegen Award. 


  • 1946 Roger Langley
  • 1947 Arthur J. Barth
  • 1948 Fred McNeil
  • 1949 John Hostvedt
  • 1950 Fred C. Bellmar
  • 1951 Douglas M. Burckett
  • 1952 F.C. Koziol
  • 1953 Albert E. Sigal
  • 1954 Harold A. Grinden
  • 1955 Burton H. Boyum
  • 1956 John B. Carson
  • 1957 Olav Ulland
  • 1958 T. Lee McCracken
  • 1959 Robert C. Johnstone
  • 1960 Dr. Amos R. 'Bud' Little and Malcolm McLane
  • 1961 Sepp Ruschp
  • 1962 J. Stanley Mullin
  • 1963 Ralph A. 'Doc' DesRoches
  • 1964 Robert Beattie
  • 1965 Merritt H. Stiles
  • 1966 Evelyn Masbruch
  • 1967 C. Allison Merrill
  • 1968 Willy J. Schaeffler
  • 1969 William Berry
  • 1970 Earl D. Walters
  • 1971 Gustav Raaum
  • 1972 James Balfanz
  • 1973 Charles T. Gibson
  • 1974 Sven Wiik
  • 1975 Byron Nishkian
  • 1976 Dr. J. Leland Sosman
  • 1977 Gloria Chadwick
  • 1978 Richard Goetzman
  • 1979 Graham Anderson
  • 1980 Bill Beck
  • 1981 Not awarded
  • 1982 Hank Tauber
  • 1983 Robert Thomson
  • 1984 Ed Hammerle
  • 1985 Robert Oden
  • 1986 Bill Slattery
  • 1987 Jim Page
  • 1988 Whiting Willauer
  • 1989 James H. “Red” Carruthers
  • 1990 Nelson Bennett
  • 1991 Tom Corcoran
  • 1992 Nick Badami
  • 1993 Serge Lussi
  • 1994 Fraser West
  • 1995 Gerald F. Groswold
  • 1996 Anna McIntyre
  • 1997 Faris Taylor
  • 1998 Irv Kagan
  • 1999 Thom Weisel
  • 2000 Dr. Richard Steadman
  • 2001 Warren Lowry (posthumously)
  • 2002 Not Awarded
  • 2003 Jim McCarthy
  • 2004 Howard Peterson
  • 2005 Michael Berry
  • 2006 Peter Kellogg
  • 2007 Charles Ferries
  • 2008 Gary Black, Jr.
  • 2009 Lee Todd
  • 2010 Tom Winters
  • 2011 Joe Lamb
  • 2012 John Garnsey
  • 2013 Barry 'Bear' Bryant
  • 2014 Bill Marolt
  • 2015 Allen Church
  • 2016 Bob Dart (posthumously)
  • 2017 Ted Sutton
  • 2018 Bruce Crane (posthumously)
  • 2019 Thelma Hoessler
  • 2020 Dexter Paine
  • 2021 Darryl Landstrom

Share This Article