More Than 364 Skiers Take Part In The South Tyrol Alpe Di Siusi Moonlight Classic

Giandomenico Salvadori (ITA) and Justyna Kowalczyk (POL) took the honours in Italy’s most atmospheric cross-country skiing event: the South Tyrol Moonlight Classic. These two won the 14th edition of the 30 kilometre version of the race, while the winners in the 15-kilometre race were Matteo Tanel and the Michaela Patscheider.

The Moonlight Classic is a unique event that sees hundreds of cross-country skiing enthusiasts gather in Alpe di Siusi. They are lured both by the idea of skiing under the moonlight and by the prestige that the contest has acquired over the years. The race also attracts a selection of great athletes who compete against each other.
This evening saw the 14th edition, and there were more than 364 cross-country skiers from 20 at the starting line: they could choose one of two routes, namely the 30 and 15 kilometre, both of which were illuminated by the full moon and by dozens of lit torches.


The 30-kilometre circular route started and finished at Compaccio at an altitude of 1,843 metres. It was a traditional race and the winner was Giandomenico Salvadori (ITA) with a time of 1:18.27,6. Lorenzo Busin came second at a distance of 0.31,0 second; while Mauro Brigadoi took third place.

It was the first time for me here at Südtirol Moonlight Classic - said the winner – the ambience was incredible and I want to congratulate with organizers for this events”.
The first female skier to cross the finishing line in this race was the Justyna Kowalczyk (POL) with a time of 1:31.09,2. She was followed by Monique Siegel (DE) in second place and by the Antonella Confortola (ITA) in third.
After my long career, I am happy to ski here and feel these emotions - was the comment of the winner after completing the race – the track was fast and the moonlight made the race even more exciting”.


From the left: Mauro Brigadoi, Giandomenico Salvadori, Lorenzo Busin


From the left: Antonella, Confortola, Justyna Kowalczyk, Monique Siegel

The winner in the equally fascinating 15-kilometre version of the race was the Matteo Tanel (ITA) with a time of 37.50,6 beating Riccardo Mich (ITA) and Florian Cappello (ITA).
The first woman to complete the race was Michaela Patscheider the followed by Agata Marchi and Caterina Piller.

“We are extremely satisfied with this edition of the race because it proves that we have won the hearts of cross-country skiers– was the comment of Martina Rier, one of the organisers of the South Tyrol Moonlight Classic – it has an original formula which is popular with enthusiasts who can choose between the shorter 15-kilometre version and the technically more demanding 30 kilometre version”.

And so ends the 14th edition of the South Tyrol Moonlight Classic, but the organisers in Alpe di Siusi would also like to to remind everyone that Sunday 5 July is the date of the Half-Marathon, which takes place on Europe’s largest alpine pasture: this is for cross-country skiers who will complete the running competition with a ranking that combines two races.

7 February 2020 – 14th Edition - Compaccio (Bolzano)

Male rankings (15 kilometres)
1. Matteo Tanel ITA Team Robinson Trentino 37.50,6
2. Riccardo Mich ITA Team Futura 37.53,7
3. Florian Cappello ITA Team Robinson Trentino 39.05,6
4. Tiziano Conti ITA US Cornacci Tesero 39.12,5
5. Stefano Detassis ITA Marzola GSD 40.53,

Female rankings (15 kilometres)
1. Michaela Patscheider ITA Unter Up Ski Team Bergamo 45.41,1
2. Agata Marchi ITA Marzola GSD 47.15,0
3. Caterina Piller ITA Team Robinson Trentino 48.01,2
4. Gaia Brunello ITA Sci Club Gröden Raiffeisen 48.01,7
5. Verena Dejori ITA Sci Club Gröden Raiffeisen 48.02,0

Male rankings (30 kilometres)
1. Giandomenico Salvadori ITA G.S. Fiamme Gialle 1:18.27,6
2. Lorenzo Busin ITA Team Robinson Trentino 1:18.58,6
3. Mauro Brigadoi ITA SottoZero Gold Team Zorzi Max Orsaiec 1:19.56,7
4. Stefano Mich ITA Team Futura-ASD White Fox 1:20.38,5
5. Manuel Amof ITA Team Futura 1:20.48,6

Female rankings (30 kilometres)
1. Justyna Kowalczyk POL Team Robinson Trentino 1:31.09,2
2. Monique Siegel GER SC Norweger Annaberg 1:37.02,7
3. Antonella Confortola ITA Team SottoZero 1:37.22,5
4. Ilenia Defrancesco ITA Centro Sportivo Esercito 1:40.50,4
5. Franziska Müller GER 1:41.06,7

For further information:

Share This Article